The Written Word.

So, I haven’t been writing as much as I promised. I have, however, been watching so much fucking TV it’s almost unbearable. This is what I do though and then write. I need the inspiration to write my own stuff and I get that inspiration from stuff like “The West Wing” and “Sports Night” and “Studio 60 on The Sunset Strip.” I get inspiration from the novels of Bret Easton Ellis which is why I cannot wait for this.

Bret Easton Ellis has a new book coming out, a continuation (if you will) of Less Than Zero which he wrote 24 years ago when he was 21 and still in college – aptly deemed “Catcher in the Rye for the MTV Generation” – and I’m very, very excited for this. It doesn’t come out til June of 2010, but whatever. Usually, we’re waiting years and years for a BEE novel to come out, so this is relatively nice.

 

I created an account on Plenty Of Fish, which didn’t last long, because I deleted it a week later. I did it as a joke, because someone I know is doing it pretty seriously and meeting people off of it. I’ll tell you what, Internet Dating breeds fucking serial killers. I care not what anyone says about this, after seeing the serious fucking cretins that roamed freely on this website, I am sure that I would either be killed, or kill someone. To surmise, I am not nor will I ever be desperate to have a girlfriend. I’m a glorified loner, I don’t need to do couples things or be married by a certain age. I have no game plan about any of this and some people think (one in particular) believe this to be crazy talk, but I just don’t care. I’ve said it time and time again, I’m not in any rush to get into a relationship…and I’ve often said, I would like to just fast forward five years into a relationship so I don’t have to deal with the intense and often rigorous couple-like things. So, I deleted Plenty of Fish a few nights ago, I wish I could delete the site completely out of my memory, because it was an utter waste of time creating a profile.

Anyway…I’m listening to Saves the Day who apparently have a new album coming out sometime soon. Saves the Day is headed by Chris Conley who’s got a pretty ridiculous voice and a tenacity to write some pretty good music. Granted the songs are morbid if you really listen to them, but they’re catchy and could be poppy given the chance.

Got a new Dashboard Confessional album as well. Really impressed by it, Chris Carrabba has written some really good stuff and continues to be the emo-tastic dude he once was.¬† I remember listening to “Screaming Infidelities” while writing the first movie and just allowing the song to lead me in a completely different direction. Dashboard Confessional has always been a part of my writing music and will probably continue to be forever. The new album Alter the Ending isn’t as good as a lot of their older albums, but it’s good and it’ll catch on just like everything else they’ve done.

With a new Dashboard Confessional album out, that means more Farmingdale based writing, like a movie or continuing to write the TV show.

Leave a Reply

